Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Palm Sunday

Hosanna!  Hallelujah!  Hurray!  And other happy jolly sounds beginning, it seems, with the letter 'H' (that's aitch by the way, not haitch :0) )  Oh yes, and happy All Fools Day if that's what you're marking as well/instead.

Today the lectionary offers us overload:

Psalm 118:1-2, 19-29
Mark 11:1-11 or John 12:12-16
Isaiah 50:4-9a
Psalm 31:9-16
Philippians 2:5-11
Mark 14:1—15:47 or Mark 15:1-39 [40-47]

Because our services this year are rooted in Mark, I'll reflect on some of the other readings here.  I haven't read everything on offer today, just settled for Isaiah and Philippians

The Lord GOD has given me the tongue of a teacher, that I may know how to sustain the weary with a word. Morning by morning he wakens - wakens my ear to listen as those who are taught.   The Lord GOD has opened my ear, and I was not rebellious, I did not turn backward.   I gave my back to those who struck me, and my cheeks to those who pulled out the beard; I did not hide my face from insult and spitting.  The Lord GOD helps me; therefore I have not been disgraced; therefore I have set my face like flint, and I know that I shall not be put to shame; he who vindicates me is near. Who will contend with me? Let us stand up together. Who are my adversaries? Let them confront me.  It is the Lord GOD who helps me; who will declare me guilty?

Isaiah 50:4-9a NRSV

Let the same mind be in you that was in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not regard equality with God as something to be exploited, but emptied himself, taking the form of a slave, being born in human likeness. And being found in human form, he humbled himself and became obedient to the point of death - even death on a cross.  Therefore God also highly exalted him and gave him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bend, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Philippians 2: 5-11 NRSV

I suppose what struck me most was the Isaiah, and within that the opening couple of sentences.  Sure, we can see the hints of Jesus' rejection in what follows, and read the words as spoken of him, but to be honest this morning I found the first couple of sentences spoken to - dare I say - of me, and indeed of any and every preacher.  To sustain the weary with a word... what a lovely calling.  Not sure I achieve it all that often, I'm far better at didactic than pastoral preaching.  But I do try.  I try to think what impact my words will have on the people in my congregation, the people who read the stuff I post here.  I hope, too, that my ears are at least half open each new day to hear what God may have to say to me - through scripture, through music, through nature, through people, through reading...

Today we celebrate in festal parade

Hallelujah!  Amen!

Today we laugh and cheer in joy

Hallelujah!  Amen!

 

Today someone is weeping deep inside

Hosanna... God please save

Today someone is visibly angry and annoyed

Hosanna... God please save

 

Today we sing praises to our Lord

Hallelujah!  Amen!

But will we walk, with him, the Calvary road?

Hosanna... God please save

 

This morning, Lord, you speak in my ear

Hallelujah!  Amen!

Help me to speak to the weary a sustaining word

Hosanna... God please save

 

~

 

Ride on, ride on in majesty

Hark all the crowds hosanna cry...

 

Ride on, ride on in majesty

In lowly pomp ride on to die...

Bow down your head to mortal pain

Then take, oh Lord, your power and reign.

 

 



The comments are closed.