Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Welcome... Wotcha... Ay Up... Hiya...

At church we have a sign up that says 'welcome' in, I think, fourteen languages, spoken by members of our congregation or by people who live in the vicinity.  Last Sunday we had a complaint - I think in jest - that we had not included the Scots word (not that anyone seemed to know what it was!).

Now it seems to me that the jury us out, even in Scotland, as to whether Scots is a language in its own right or a dialect.  Suffice to say opinions are hotly contested and I tend to keep my distance!

In a moment of flippancy, I suggested we make an alternative poster with dialect words for welcome (or hello anyway) from around the UK.  Anyone want to profer their vairants?

 

Wotcha - Northampton (origins 'what cheer' so I'm told)

Ay up - Leicestershire, Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire

Hiya - North West England

 

Oh, and we also thought of

 

You'll have had your tea - Edinburgh

(Eat up) You're at your auntie's - Glasgow/Lanarkshire (and my mother!)

Comments

  • Come away in.... That one is East Coast I think.....

The comments are closed.