Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Seeing Afresh

008.JPGToday I collected my new glasses from the optician - for some reason it took them three weeks to get them, and even at that they had to be hunted for when I arrived.  Ah well.

For the first time, I have varifocals.  The reading prescripton is the smallest they can do as it was 'up to me' whether I continued to peer over the top of my specs to read tiny print, a trick I've developed over the last year, or gave in and admitted my eyes were changing.  Over the years I've been told that because I am so myopic I have lasted longer than average with good close vision... I am also told that the drugs I have had over the last year or so can all affect eyesight, so I am choosing to blame that rather than my age!

Anyway, I am now learning to see out of these new glasses. The distance prescription is unchanged from last year so that's fine, but I am having to teach myself to look through, rather than over, the glasses to read tiny print on food labels... all very entertaining.

So far so good...

Comments

  • Good luck with your new specs, Catriona. They're great when you're used to them.

The comments are closed.