Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

PRetty Complicated

PR on a weighted STV system - four to elect, about fourteen to choose from, vote for as few or as many as you like.  Simples?

No.

No one party fielded more than two candidates, so the maximum party-related option was to choose two parties.

There were several single issue or I-would-never-vote-for-them-even-if-the-alternative-was Gengis-Khan candidates.

There are four 'mainstream' parties and several established minority parties.

So, not so easy.

Names have been changed to protect the guilty, and parodies are my own, not all candidates/parties are mentioned...

Raving-Fundamentalist party

Racist-Coalition party

I-really-don't-have-a-clue-but-am passionate-about-flowers-in-window-boxes-or-whatever party

Mainstream party who regularly annoy me

Mainstream party of choice

Mainstream party of of second choice

Mainstream party I could put up with because at least they are proper

Minority party with some good policies and I'll forgive their (ill-informed imo) stance on energy

Minoirty party I wouldn't vote for if you paid me

 

So there you have it.  I cast 8 votes, so hopefully some of those I voted for will get in, and some of those I really didn't like the look of won't.  You might guess how I voted but you probably won't, I am far too 'floating' a voter for it to be that obvious.  But at least I voted!  And at least I am permitted to complain if I don't like the outcome!!

The comments are closed.