Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Nearly But Not Quite...

This morning I've been searching for hymns/songs for Sunday which is kind of "Pentecost Part Deux" as I make a bridge between Pentecost last Sunday and using the BMS Undefeated resource next.  I found some gorgeous old hymns (alert - I may be digging out the old GREEN Baptist Hymnbooks on Sunday as I found two lovely ones that didn't make the cut for BPW). 

 

I also found this one, in Kid Source...

The Holy Spirit is a 'he', not an 'it' (not an 'it')

The Holy Spirit is a 'he', not an 'it' (not an 'it')

The Holy Spirirt is a 'he', how would you feel if you were he

And ev'rybody in the church called you 'it' (called you 'it')

Steve Burnthorpe, (c) Daybreak Music

Nice idea but actually wrong.  I'm not sure when the translation from the Hebrew and Greek first rendered the Spirit as male, but it is a mis-translation that is not sustainable once we learn that ruach, pneuma, sophia are all feminine words.  I totally get what the song writer is trying to achieve, but it's flawed.  So, let's attempt a version that won't offend those who struggle with feminine language for God, but which is authentically rooted in scripture:

The Holy Spirit is Sophia, not an 'it' (not a 'it')

The Holy Spirit is Ruach, not a 'it' (not a 'it')

The Holy Spirit is Pnuema, how would you feel if it were you

And ev'rybody in the church called you 'it' and not your name?

The comments are closed.