Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Thus are new traditions born...

I should say, right at the start, because I know lots of my lovely people read this, that my tongue is planted firmly in my cheek as I type this, because I know you are all wonderfully accommodating of my crazy ideas and I love you all for that (and many other reasons) and there is absolutely no suggestion that you are resistant to change.

 

We don't very often use a data projector at church - this may surprise some who know I am quite a fan of their use.  The reason is basically that our premises are far from ideally suited to their use - too light and bright even on on dull days.  Nevertheless, now and then I use film clips or PowerPoint in worship, and yesterday I wanted to show some of the photos from the sea Baptism  as part of the reception into membership of the person concerned.  Recently we have been experimenting with a 'less bad' set up for projection which means using a centrally located screen and the projector in the middle of the floor space.  On an 'ordinary' Sunday this is fine, but yesterday was communion, and I really did not want the projector becoming de facto the visual focus by its location.

 

So

 

Shock, horror...

 

(are you sitting down...?)

 

The Communion Table

 

was

 

relocated!

 

 

Yes, I moved the Communion Table to a place in front of the projector stand and turned it through ninety degrees so it was longways (i.e. narrow end forward).  It was actually easier to arrange the various plates and trays so that everything was visible.

 

But

 

It meant there was no room for the servers to sit behind the table, so they had to occupy seats on the front row

 

yes

 

the FRONT row!

 

It all went really well, and as it was an all age service my liturgy was very child-friendly in its language (I will post it when I am back at church as it's on the church computer not my laptop)

 

So far I have had no negative comments and several positive ones, notably that people felt it was more 'friendly' and less sense of 'them and us' (servers and congregation)

 

So who knows, just maybe a new tradition will be born...

Only time will tell!

 

Comments

  • Moving the communion table is risky - but not as dangerous as closing down the Ladies' Fellowship [which is what I have just done]

The comments are closed.