Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Party from Purgatory? Or even Lower?

Today's PAYG focused on the calling of Levi (Matthew) and Jesus falling foul of the authorities for dining with tax-gatherers and 'sinners'.  As listener, I was invited to imagine myself at a meal hosted by Jesus, to which all the people who really annoy, anger or irritate me were invited.  All the people who wind me up.  All the people I perceive as 'bad' or 'less good than me' anyway.  This image was then the focus for prayer.  I found it helpful and challenging.

I wonder who would have me on their list of annoying people?  Who would see me as 'less good' and be surprised that Jesus would invite me dine?

The heavenly banquet of which we speak so glibly will have far more in common with this purgatorial (or even hellish) counterpart tyhan perhaps I would like to think.  Golly, I'm glad I'm not sorting out THAT table plan.

The comments are closed.