Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

One Goes Mad in Poundland (with apologies to Enid Blyton)

Regular readers of this blog will have grown accustomed to the sight of the 'sponsor me' button on the right hand of this blog.  Well in a little over two months, this years event - the Ben Nevis Challenge' will be taking place.  I am really looking forward to meeting the other 100 or so walkers, some living with or beyond breast cancer, some supporting or remembering loved ones affected by it, some health-care professionals, and so on.  As part of the 'contract' I have to raise at least £500, and I'd love to raise more if I can, because it is a really good cause.

To augment my fundraising, I am holding a coffee morning and bring 'n' buy sale at the end of July.  I have lots of ideas for cakes and bakes, but today I decided to hit the shops for pink-themed items for my bring 'n' buy stall.

Those who know the real me, rather than the blog persona, will know that, despite owning a lovely fuchsia coloured suit, I do not, in general 'do' pink... I am not a pink and fluffy girl, always more the odd mix of a domesticated, pony-tailed tomboy really.

So why pink then?

Cancer (and other health related) awareness ribbons come in various colours, and breast cancer got pink.  As far as I can ascertain, it was originally a nice peach colour, but once it became widespread, it morphed in to more of a Barbiefied colour, to the eternal chagrin of many affected by this unpredictable disease which is so not pink or fluffy either.

Be all that as it may, pink is the colour, and fundraising the game, so this morning I went rather mad in Poundland and The Works (still have to visit Home Bargains)...

002.JPG

If you know me in the real world, I'd be thrilled if you felt able to sponsor me (follow the Justgiving link)

If you are in or around Glasgow and free on the morning of 28th July, do pop in to the Gathering Place for excellent Fairtrade coffee/tea/herbals and lovely sweet and savoury home-baking.

The comments are closed.