Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Mentoring and Munching

One of the delights and privileges of being an experienced minister is mentoring less experienced ministers, and this year I have been working with a very capable and intelligent young minister, reflecting on aspects of a complex ministry pattern and watching as nascent gifts and skills begin to find expression.

Today to mark the end of year one, we went out for lunch.  I am the 'food 'n' drink' mentor, the one who buys wine (or soft drinks) for NAMs, who sups coffee (or tea) at the drop of a hat, and who thinks food is very important (and that it ticks the WWJD box!). 

I am privileged indeed - there are not many jobs/careers that allow such enjoyable means of working, or that permit such important working relationships to be formed.  When I wrote my essay on mentoring for SBC/BUS (so that I could be a thrice-qualified mentor) I read some stuff about women's mentoring styles.  Whilst I dislike gender stereotypes, it does seem that women are more likely than men to see leisurely meetings over meals as a valid approach.

Anyway, I have a full belly and a warm glow from our conversations.  Have a brilliant summer M, and in September Year 2 begins - more coffee methinks!

The comments are closed.