Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Glad that I live am I...

... no, not the Victorian children's song

... not the Pollyanna game either

Just the truth.  I have had such a lovely weekend so far, and it seems good (if a tad twee) to note that.

 

Church this morning was great fun - lots of positive feedback on my sermon about 'The Rabbi Jesus School of Practical Discipleship'... pairing people up, sending them out with no visible means of support, and saying 'OK now go and do what you've seen me do'.  Mildly amusing that one of our visitors today was a theological educator, and former Baptist college principal, who lives and works in the USA!

After the service we (well other people) continued to sell off the cupcakes and 'stuff' left from yesterday raising on the way to another £100 (I have £345 in notes and the coins will get counted next Sunday) towards my Ben Nevis challenge.  I am stunned and awed by people's generosity.  A few left over bits will go either to top up our Operation Christmas child boxes or to support other charities.

I am looking forward to this evening's service (and hoping I do a better job than I did last week, which I felt was below par, even though people were very kind about it)

This time two years ago I was blithely enjoying life, clueless as to what lay ahead of me (always a good thing I feel).  This weekend I have raced around like a nutter and am not just standing but thriving.  My brain is still a bit dull, my joints are definitely getting worse, but I am laughing, loving and living.

So, praise God in twee Victorian hymnody: glad that I live am I!

The comments are closed.