Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Oven Cleaning...

Yesterday I undertook a housework marathon - it was long overdue and, much as I dislike housework, I was pleased with my gleaming oven and abnormally tidy surfaces.  It was a beautiful sunny day, but I was happy to spend it indoors, doing the things I had planned to do.

When I mentioned this to someone they said, 'do you really think you'll get to the end of your life and think 'I wish I cleaned my oven more often?'"

The answer of course, is 'no,' but then I don't spend much time oven cleaning anyway (too embarrassing to admit exactly how long it's been since I cleaned an oven; let's just say it coincides with the last time I moved house...).

This conversation reminded me of a conversation a very long time ago with my then next-door neighbour.  They had arranged to meet up with a friend who had cancelled on the grounds that they were - cleaning their oven.   I was shocked and dismayed then, and somewhere I my mind oven-cleaning became the ultimate example of a terrible excuse not see someone.  Probably my former neighbour has long forgotten this incident...

As I pondered all this, I deduced that I would have abandoned my oven cleaning had someone wanted or needed my time, and would certainly not have employed it as an activity to avoid something/someone.  I cannoy imagine I will ever say 'I wish I'd spent more time cleaning my oven," but I don't ever want to be in the situation of saying "if only I had cleaned my oven..."  and I will never, ever, ever use oven cleaning as an excuse to avoid someone!

The comments are closed.