Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Third Week in Advent: Monday

Today's PAYG used Matthew's genealogy of Jesus... described as one of the hardest passages in the Bible to read, let alone to relate to!

Growing up, I have to admit I usually skipped over this, dismissing it as boring; and anyway wasn't there that admonition against 'meaningless genealogies'?  In more recent times, I have both preached and led studies on the five women in the genealogy (for named, one identified by the name of her murdered husband).

Today I was struck by the gentle, rhythmic, almost poetic flow of the lists, fourteen generation, fourteen generations fourteen generations...  I assume if I was into gamatria or numerilogy I could have fun with that three lots of fourteen, three lots of two times seven... but I'm not.

I think for me in the busyness of this pre-Christmas period, it was good simply to pause and allow the rhythm and lilt of the words wash over me, connecting me once more into the stroy that began before time and flows, uninterrupted through it.

 

In the beginning, God,

You breathed, spoke and loved life into being

 

And as father begat father

Mother gave birth to mother

Generation flowed into generation

Nations spread and shrank,

Empires rose and fell

Worldviews emerged, shifted and evaporated...

As all that rhythm of life flowed

Inexorably onward through time

You were there

At the heart of it all...

 

And are here now

In our generation

In the place we call home

Among the people we meet...

 

And closer still

In thinking and speaking

In my working and sleeping

In my creating and continuing

 

God of gentle rhythm

God of all time

Hear my prayer.

 

Amen

The comments are closed.