Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

What's in a Name?

A very long time, the day after my ordination in fact, I went into a large branch of a now defunct electrical retailer to order a cooker.  The guy taking my order asked me if it was 'Miss' or 'Mrs' and I said, "Reverend".  His response, without even blinking, was, "is that Miss Reverend or Mrs Reverend?".  It still makes me laugh more than nine years on.

This week I ordered a new heater for the vestry from a well known department store using their 'click and collect' service on the basis that they could deliver it to the supermarket just a couple of minutes walk from the Gathering Place.  Despite some internal hiccups and left hands not knowing what right hands were doing, I finally managed to pick it up this morning, and had to chuckle to myself that the name said R Gorton.  This despite me having given my first name in full in the online form... it appears that they take the data from the card details, and my card has my title and name, so their software decided my first named was Reverend...  what can I say?

Between that and English Heritage insisitng I am a Rev Dr becuase using the abbreviation Revd confused their software I seem to be called almost anything but my actual name. 

Maybe I should just combine them all and be... Miss/Mrs/Ms Rev Dr Reverend Catriona... The again, perhaps not.

The comments are closed.