Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Re-Establishing Rhythms

Last autumn I changed my working pattern in response to some of the new initiatives we were establishing at church.  It was absolutely the right thing to do, but I have never really felt comfortable with the change... as a 'morning person' I seemed to end up with a lot of late starts which don't really suit me, and never really got to sit down with the Bible passages for Sunday until at least Wednesday afternoon and sometimes Thursday.  It has felt as if I have been chasing my tail, running hard to stand still, and never really achieving what I hope for... even the to do' list approach which usually serves me well has failed to get things done.

So now I have spent a month standing back and observing myself (clever, huh) with a view to establishing, or re-establishing, rhythms and routines that will work for me.  This does mean potentially working one very long day (I really hate 'split shifts' and they never work for me anyway) and it does necessitate me making better use of 'cloud' storage for documents so that I can make better use of the time where I work from home one morning a week, but already it feels better, and, I feel better.

I am fortunate to be able to determine, by and large, my own work patterns, and appreciate the privileges that arise from not having fixed hours.  My hope is that I will end up more energised and more effective, rather than the recent experience of "aaargh it's Friday and the first draft of the sermon is so not where I want it to go..."

Comments

  • We can't fight our own body rhythms for long, Catriona. Glad you've recognised that.

The comments are closed.