Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Best Laid Plans...

This morning I came in to church, switched on the computer and got the dreaded blue screen - something I have not seen in many years, and only then when I knew I had done a hard reboot after some poor, old machine had frozen.  This PC is not yet two years old, how could this be?

One hard reboot and a system restore later and all was well - well almost.  Now the virus software decided not to work... so, once the backup (which is taking forever, nearly 3 hours so far) finishes I will reboot it, and if that fails to fix the virus software, evidently have to install and reinstall it.  Grr, grr, grr!

Whether the cause is a Windows update or a Norton update, I don't know (had something similar, though not quite as bad, on my laptop a year or so back) but it has meant a disproportionate amount of time being my own IT department and not doing the things I planned to do.  And I think I need to sit here until the backup completes, which at the present rate of progress....

The best laid plans of mice and men, and all that jazz.

Comments

  • But at least you know how to do it, Catriona. I rely shamefully on DH to sort out my IT problems.

  • Could Norton be the culprit? I know it used to regularly bring my old PC to a grinding halt.

  • Grr indeed.

The comments are closed.