Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Count Your Blessings: Day 3

Adults

Illiteracy affects more than 120 million young people globally, compounding the disadvantages they face
in life.

Give 20p for each favourite childhood book you can still recall well.

 

Youch!  That's an expensive one.  How 'well' is 'well' I wonder?

OK, cunning plan - post live, allow myself two minutes (timed) to type names of books I loved as a child...

Heidi

The Secret Garden

A Little Princess

Jane Eyre

Black Beauty

Ballet Shoes

What Katy Did/Did next

Anne of Green Gables

Malory Towers series (6)

St Clare's series (6)

Swallows and Amazons series (12)

Tom Brown's Schooldays

Beauty and the Beast (Ladybird)

Rapunzel (Ladybird)

Rumpelstiltskin (Ladybird)

 

Yikes!  That's 36 books... @ 20p each so £7.20

Had I allowed myself longer I could easily have doubled that list... makes me realise just how fortunate I am to have grown up where I did, with access to so many books.

 

My pledge

Today - £7.20

Total - £7.50 plus one prayer of thanksgiving

 

PS... how could I have missed The Railway Children, one of the books I've read over and over...?

Comments

  • What about:

    Tom's Midnight Garden

    Biggles books

    Snubby books (The best Enid Blyton series)

    The Hills of Varna

    The Silver Sword

The comments are closed.