Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Pancakes, Pebbles and Possibilities

I had this crazy idea... borrow a camping stove and make pancakes live in the service whilst talking about Jesus' sojourn in the wilderness and his temptation to turn pebbles into food.  I spent a fair bit of time researching and then prototyping pancakes mixes that were... vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free, all in the interests of inclusivity.  And so I had all my ingredients ready, fired up the stoves (I'd been lent two), launched into my talk, mixed, poured... and they stuck fast to the billies!  Thankfully, someone nipped into the church kitchen and found a decent nonstick frying pan and we did eventually manage to get some pancake shaped pancakes.  Covered in lashings of golden syrup and honey, the children certainly seemed to enjoy them.  I then mentioned the possibilities of using the Christian Aid Lent resources.

My piece de resistance (or some such) was cooking pancakes and simultaneously changing the slides on the screen with a remote zapper - mutli-tasking... no bother!

It was a very long day - extra setting up time needed for the service, and then an important church meeting which meant by the time I got home I'd worked seven hours straight with no break.  I'm not saying this was a good thing - it wasn't - but it is unbelievably wonderful to have the energy and mental capacity to do so.  Even six months ago I probably could not have done it.  I am whacked, my joints are really achey, to say nothing of ludicrous numbers of hot flushes (not sure why either of these has intensified but they have) and not everything about the day went as I might have wished, but overall I am content.

Perhaps the pancakes are some sort of a parable in which the intent somehow overrides the execution?

Anyway, someone took a few photos during the service, so I may, in due course, be able to post them here!

EDIT - one photo, editted to protect identities of minors.

pancakes editted.jpg

Comments

  • Are those judiciously placed pancakes? Very impressive!

The comments are closed.