Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Make a Difference

One of the unexpected bonuses of my protracted jounreys in the last week or two has been the opportuity to listen to more music on my MP3 player... I am lazy, I tend to switch it on and let it run through in its own order and (because it is a very cheap one it has no 'shuffle') tend to hear the same peices over and over again.

The longer jounrney times meant I heard, for the first in ages, this by Paul Filed, and heard it almost anew... his songs always make me think.  Apologies if the language bothers you, but it has a good message...

 

 

I don't wanna buy Jesus on a corporate CD

I'm not looking for a lifestyle based on some kind of holy MTV

And I don't want a new experience to take me deeper into myself

I want faith that's going to make me

Some good to someone else.

 

It's got to make a difference from the cradle to the grave

To the diamonds and the dirt we dig up along the way

It's got to make a difference to our short attention span

If a cross can be a crown and God can be a man.

 

I don't wanna come to worship for a Sunday morning shine

Just a pill you take for holiness

Wash it down with bread and wine

I won't kneel before an altar built on riches and success

I want love to touch my heart, nothing more and nothing less

 

It's got to make a difference…

 

It's got to make a difference in this world of our mistakes

To the lies that we won't swallow and the crap that we don't take

It's got to make a difference, if we really understand

It completely changes everything if God can be a man

 

Every man and woman equal, let compassion draw the line

From Baghdad into the White House, from Israel to Palestine

It's got to make a difference from the bottom to the top

Let the hope begun in Jesus be a passion we can't stop

 

For the outcast and the broken abd the hungry and the poor

For the Zealots and the Terrorists, who aree beating on our door

Beyond the streets of Babylon let's find a prayer to pray

To go beyond religion and let love have her way

 

It's got to make a difference

It's got to make a difference

 

Beyond the streets of Babylon let's find a way to pray

To go beyond religion, and let God's love have her way

 

Beyond the streets of Babylon let's find a way to pray

To go beyond religion, and let  love have her way

 

 

Paul Field © Paul Field

The comments are closed.