Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Lighter Side of Sabbaticalling

I have no idea if sabbatical can be used as a verb, but I am not concerned about grammatical idiosyncracies right at the moment.

I had a wonderful weekend in Bath, was shown generous and gracious hospitality by the church I visited and have plenty upon which to reflect over the next couple of days.  For now, though, just a few photos that capture something of the lighter side of the visit...

022.JPG

The beautiful, vaulted ceiling at Bath Abbey - look closely and you will spot a tiny saltire in the right hand boss: I only spotted it when I uploaded the photo from my camera to my laptop, and it made me chuckle.

025.JPG

 

In the quire at Bath Abbey, above the two ranks of choir stalls, are beautiful ornanamental angels.  Diametrically opposite the conductor is a bagpiping angel.  Another bit of humour.

Rev Cat.jpg

 

Lastly, this little candle snuffer, which I bought in the gift shop at Bath Abbey and which was one of those "saw this and thought of you" moments, expect it wasn't you, it was me!  The 'Rev Cat' now has a place on my bookcase at home, and will serve as a reminder of a wonderful weekend.

Many, many thanks to everyone at MSBC, you gave me so much, and I am truly grateful.

Comments

  • I think the verb is 'sabbaticating' !

  • It is? Is that pronounced sabbati-cat-ing? Written vs spoken word!

The comments are closed.