Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Rev Neil Harding RIP

It is a decade now since a church, to which I was convinced God had called me, voted not to do so.  A few months later, I was called to Dibley, where I spent just shy of six good, mostly happy, and certainly formative, years.  That church called Neil.  I was pleased for them, and for him, and hoped it would be a happy partnership.  Sadly, news reached me this morning to say that Neil had died, very suddenly, leaving a wife and four sons.

My heart aches for this church - this is the seond time their minister has died 'in harness' - and for his family, coming to terms with his loss. 

I only met Neil a couple of times and can't say I knew him, but his story and mine intersected, however briefly, and I am saddened by the news.  No platitudes about calling home, no nice explanations, just an aching ache and reminder that all we ever have is 'today', so must make the very best of it.

RIP Neil, embraced in the love of God and the hope of Christ.

The comments are closed.