Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Rubbish?

I am getting back into the swing of starting my day with PAYG... how easy it is to let 'spiritual disciplines' slide, especially in an age of instant everyhting.  Anyhow, today's passage was part of Philippians 3, including Paul's assertion that:

 

For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things, and I regard them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him (Phil 3:8b NRSV)

 

Oh dear, sorry Paul, I cannot regard all things as rubbish, not even if I restrict that to the material, and absolutely not if I allow the more abstract things that delight...

 

Thank you, God, for Pauline rubbish:

For the warm, soft fur of pussy-cat cuddles

The sunlight playing on the chimney stacks of Victorian houses

The summer breeze tousling hair and tickling skin

The soaring crescendo of birdsong, and pop-song, and symphonic works

 

Thank you, God, for Pauline rubbish

For the laughter of a shared ridiclous experience

The 'aha' moments of new knowledge or insight

The heartaching privilege of sharing others' pain

The gentle silence of contentment

 

Thank you, God, for Pauline rubbish

Your outrageously geneous gifts of grace

Physical

Emotional

Spiritual

 

Better is one day lived in a Pauline rubbish dump, than a thousand elsewhere.

Comments

  • This reminds me of some of the lines from "The Great Lover" by Rupert Brooke.

  • Thank you! Did not know that poem but googled it and enjoyed it greatly.

The comments are closed.