Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Odd Juxtaposition

This afternoon I was visiting one of my folk who is in hospital, and had a very pleasant half hour chatting with her and her husband.  As I was leaving she asked me to say 'hello' to one of the other patients, a piskie who worships on the edge of our patch.  Soon I was drawn into a conversation with her, realised that she, too is English (turned out we were born a few streets and a few decades apart) and she shared her life story.  As she told me about her father's wartime service the song 'Tonight' by Fun was blaring out of the radio in the bay where she and three other older ladies were patients...

Tonight, we are young

So let's set the world on fire

We can burn brighter than the sun

 

Whilst the song is not exactly my cuppa char, the chorus is very catchy

It just seemed a very odd juxtaposition of someone singing about hedonisim whilst an 80-something told me her father's involvement in the D-Day landings.  He was, evidently just turned forty at the time, and she knows the number of DUKW he was on, carrying munitions.

Once all these older people were young.  Once they dreamed of burning brighter than the sun. And because of them others are free to sing about nights of hedonism... hmmm.

The comments are closed.