Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Working Through the List?

In January, I posted a list of things to do in my fiftieth year as follows:

  • Go to the cinema once a month
  • Climb Snowdon
  • Climb Scafell
  • Have afternoon tea at Betty's Harrogate
  • Read a leisure book a month
  • Fly a kite on a beach or headland (ht Tim Presswood)
  • As a concession to all things girlie, the only one I plan to make, have a professional manicure (I have an event in mind for which this might be appropriate)
  • Write and deliver a conference paper at the 'Baptist Doing Theology' conference
  • Learn to play, properly, at least one piano work from among the stuff I already have
  • Raise funds for a local charity in Glasgow which was founded by The Gathering Place and it's 'mother church'
  • Help my kid brother mark his fiftieth next autumn!

With just over a month left to go, it is quite clear that a number of these aren't going to happen, for all sorts of reasons, but some have been met in spirit if not in fact...

  • Cinema visiting is sporadic, but I have been several times and seen anything from 'Les Miserables' to 'Sunshine on Leith'.  Today I am heading off to see 'Philomena'.
  • Climbing mountains has not happened.  Partly due to difficulties in finding someone to go with, partly because my joints can get very stiff and painful, with the result that I walk ridiculously slowly for a person of my age.  I have, however, enjoyed a number of country walks in Scotland, and still have the prospect of the mountains another time.
  • Afternoon tea in Harrogate didn't happen, but I had afternoon tea in Morecambe with a group of friends, which was every bit as enjoyable (and probably a darned sight cheaper!)
  • Reading for leisure/pleasure has been a big part of this year's endeavours, and I have enjoyed a number of novels from the ridiculously twee to the complex literary.  Combine a Kindle with a train journey, and it's a recipe for happy reading.
  • Kite flying has not happened - still time if I get my act together!
  • Professional manicure - well the event for which I would have done this was cancelled, and I see no real reason to do it just to tick a box.  Maybe one day, if the occasion arises, but not fussed if I don't.  It was only ever there as a sop to girly-ness!
  • The 'Baptists Doing Theology' conference didn't happen, but I have had a paper accepted for the 'International Symposium of Theology, Spirituality and Cancer', so I think that's well and truly acheived.
  • Piano-wise, as part pf my Lent challenge, I learned to play some Bach and played it for our study group.  Alas since then I have hardly touched the piano.
  • This Saturday I will hosting a coffee morning for the charity I chose to support, and hope to raise a useful sum for them.
  • Last week my kid brother turned fifty (yes, he is only 10.5 months younger than me!) and I hope that the financial gift I sent enabled him to celebrate in the way he chose.

Overall, then, I have made a reasonable attempt at my celebratory challenges.  It has been, and continues to be, a good year overall.  For sure it has had its sad moments and its annoying moments, but for the most part a year well lived.  Lots of exciting things to look forward to in the next year too.  I am, among people, surely blessed. 

The comments are closed.