Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Poignant and Thought-provoking

Two things today in that category.

A very rare event for me, I was in Starbucks in one of the city centre shopping centres waiting for my coffee as 11 a.m. neared.  Just before the announcement that the two minute silence would begin was sounded throughout the centre, the shop turned off its sound system, the till stilled and no more coffee was made.  One of the barristas quietly wrote on a post note 'moment of silence' and showed to it all in the queue.  There was something poignant in the whole queue standing still and silent, something almost prophetic about it, given that one person left the queue and the shop rather than wait 120 seconds longer.  Starbucks has had a lot of bad press recently, for good reason, but they should be proud of the young barristas in this central Glasgow store who managed the silence with dignity and courtesy (they even apologised that my coffee had stood for 2 mins before being handed to me!!).

Then I went to watch the film 'Philomena', which was beautifully and tenderly produced, and in which Judy Dench excelled as she always does.  At times very funny, at times dreadfully sad, at times disturbing, at times heartwarming, it was poignant and thought-provoking, and I'm glad I went to see it.  Not many films have audiences tiptoeing out quietly, but this was one, and an especially good one in my opinion.

Comments

  • Not in Costa, though was outside

The comments are closed.