Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Second Tunes...

I've just been copying the music for today's carol singing to save me lugging a big fat BPW half way across Glasgow.  In the course of that, I inadvertently copied the 'second tune' to 'O Little Town of Bethlehem', the rather lovely, if rarely used Walford Davies rather than the familiar Vaughn Williams.  I have since 'corrected' my error, but it did remind me, yet again, how much I love so many of the 'second tunes' and how, one day, I 'd love to have a carol service using only these less heard melodies.

 

Here are a few for you to enjoy...

O Little Town of Bethlehem

 

In the Bleak Midwinter

 

 

Away in a manger

Comments

  • Interestingly the tune for In The Bleak Midwinter is the only one I know. I've never sung another. :-)

  • Wow! I have now posted the Holst version - hope you enjoy it!

The comments are closed.