Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lenten Laughter... a Link

This week's blog link is to that of a Baptist minister called Jo who I first got to know 'on line' and subsequently met a few times as she went through her NAM period.  She has blogged intermittently for many years, and this year it looks as if she is challenging herself to some Lent blogging.  I don't want to pressurise you Jo, but I do want to share your post on laughter.

We can make Lent such a solemn affair (with good reason) but there should still be space for laughter (remember what Jesus said about behaviour during fasts).

Here's the link to Jo's blog post

I saw a post on social media that made me smile.  In resposne to the pious Christian suffering caffiene withdrawal God says "did I ask you give up coffee for Lent?"  Today's PAYG focuses on Isaiah 58: 5 - 9a and the kind of 'fast' God desires... release from oppression, not self-flagellation.  Giving up can be a good disicpline but it can also be a pious trap.  Laughter is good for the soul - I'm sure it says that somewhere in Proverbs if only I searched hard enough!!

Comments

  • Proverbs 17:22 'A cheerful heart is good medicine.'

The comments are closed.