Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Wonderful Wobbly Web

So the web is 25 years old - which might help explain why I've spent half the morning trying to resolve apparent bugs on the church computer that meant it refused to connect to most websites that weren't bookmarked (no I hadn't altered my settings)... I finally fixed it with the old 'switch it off and switch it on again' routine for the router.  It might be faster and more whizzy than back then, kilostream and megastream datalinks, dial up mdems (though a few evidently still have this) laughably antiquated, but some things stay the same.

I have been with my ISP for 15 years or thereabouts, since I first went online at home, never having changed and having had very few problems along the way ... the smaller, unknown ISPs do seem less problematic than the big names... even if the big names own almost all the small names nowadays.

Happy birthday WWW... you've come a long way in quarter of a century.

The comments are closed.