Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Not-even-remotely-low Sunday!

Well, I can only speak for myself but it was a great Sunday today... church full, several visitors, the joy of faces not seen so often for good reason, great music, thoughtful prayers and that palpable but inexplicable sense that this is good moment.

Today two former popes representing very different parts of the RC church were canonised in a service conducted by two living popes who also differ greatly.  It was a profound and beautiful moment in the history of the church, in my opinion anyway, prophetically saying that saint-hood crosses all the silly human-made divides and is not remotely connected to 'perfection'.

All this fitted perfectly with my carefully prepared, but partly abandoned in the light of the above, sermon on Mary, Peter and Thomas - three very human, very imperfect disicples who are each called 'saints', and with the trajectory that we are all 'saints in the making'.

Now I am sitting on a train with wobbly wifi (though it is better on the 'west' side where I am sitting this time than it was when I was on the 'east' side!) feeling tired and happy... it has been a good weekend and I am, among all ministers, truly blessed.

Comments

  • A great reminder that we are all flawed, imperfect people on our way to sainthood.

The comments are closed.