Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Twenty Years On

Today the Church of England held a service to celebrate reaching twenty years of ordaining women... evidently around 700 women were present, the bishops all dressed as priests and the arch bish was the deacon... lots of symbolism going on there.

As a trainee Bappy minister, my first placement was with one of the women ordained in the first decade - after the first few pioneers but before it was widespread, now she's Archdeacon of York.

Later during my training I met a woman training to be a priest, who, last I knew was a leading light in her own diocese.

Among my blogging friends is Perpetua a retired priest and I have one or two real life vicar friends.

All of them are a real asset to the church, each bringing her unique gifts to fulfil her calling - I am privileged to know them

I am pleased for them that they are celebrating - and the Arch Bish's sermon can be read here

Every blessing to S, A, P, O, J and all women priests in the C of E

Comments

  • And where did those 20 years go? It's hard now to remember when women weren't ordained. :-)

The comments are closed.