Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

The Games Begin...

Last night, along with millions of others, I was glued to my television wathcing the Opening Ceremony of the Commonwealth Games.  Along with more than a few friends (real and virtual) I was also participating in some online chats via Facebook and Twitter.  A fascinating exercise in online 'people watching' as comments posted revealed some strong opinions!!

I really enjoyed it, and in common with many others in Glasgow ran to the window to look for the Red Arrows (chose the wrong window!) and later to watch the fireworks over the Clyde (right window and they were, simply, wow!). 

I loved the tongue in cheek tour of Scotland (more so, it has to be said than many of the Scots who posted on Twitter, and no, they were't doing that double negative humour thing). 

I loved the UNICEF appeal - a new initiative for which the time has come - and was saddened at the home grown pharisees and scoffers crying 'waste' and 'what about the poor kids in Glasgow'... Unless our attitudes and actions change then, to misquote the greatest man who ever lived, "the poor kids in Glasgow will always be with us". 

I loved the 'come on in (when the announcers remembered to say it) welcome to each nation - even if 'come away in ' would maybe have been a tad more authentic.

I valued the silence to honour those killed in the downing of MH370. 

I smiled at the hiccup with the lid of the baton. 

I thought the Queen's speech was just right - and how many 88 year-olds would be up at that time, never mind politely smiling at the hiccup and then reading so eloquently?

I guess I just love a good Opening Ceremony combining kitsch and clever, innovation and tradition, solemnity and celebration... I think last night achieved just that.

Oh, and this morning I saw this, which made me smile...

huff post faq cg.jpg

Comments

  • Love it! E

The comments are closed.