Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Bring it on Glasgow!

Some people who daft things... like trying to go to lots of Glasgow 2014 events whilst working full time... it is exhausting but such great fun.  Today is quieter and will begin with some admin worky stuff before Coffee Club and then netball this evening.

From jocular Welsh security guards to Clyedsiders who still don't quite know their left and right, to jolly Derbyshire bus drivers who know one route and one route only, there is a happy atmosphere and a sense of all being on the same side, all part of one big thing that is bigger than nationality or race or language or any other descriptor... as in Manchester, so in Glasgow, I am granted a glimspe of the vision of 'no more race, status, gender...'

From netball to lawn bowls, rhythmic gymnastics to hockey, I seen some amazing sport, marvelled at skill, agility, athleticism and diversity.  I've sat oppsite athletes and officials on trains and buses (none I recognised, they probably don't use public transport).  I have shouted for England, for Scotland, for Wales, for Malawi, for New Zealand, for Northern Ireland along with crowds who love an underdog and admire the top flight too.

I have eaten way too many sandwiches, not a few cakes, and drunk copious amounts of water.

I have sat on blistering heat and wondered why I'd chosen to wear jeans, and in pouring rain glad of my waterproof and unbrella.

I have sung 500 Miles in a 'choir' (so not) of around 4000 and done a slo-mo Mexican wave.

There is something that overtakes individuality, be it everso fleetingly (and I  know PhDs have been written on it!) and in this case something that it good.

One teensy weesny criticism though.... at every venue I've been to thus far we've been told to stand at various points... nope, "please stand if you can" or "if you are able".... if I can train churches to do this, the Commonwealth Games is my next challenge!!

The comments are closed.