Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Language!

Back in the dark ages of the early 1980s, I wrote an essay as an entry in a competition to win a scholarship to an international conference in Geneva.  My entry was successful - even if the conference was largely rather dull, not least as my employer had dictated which sessions I must attend.  Having drafted my essay - which was something about the role of the engineer I think - I passed it to my training manager, a gruff man in his late fifties.  His one comment was that I had referred to engineers only as 'male' and he said, "you should use the feminine".  At the time I didn't really 'get' it; inclusive language was unknown and 'the male includes the female'.

Today I was reading a document written by someone I respect greatly that referred to ministers exclusively as male, and I saw red!  If an organisation claims to affirm women ministers (and this one does, albeit belatedly) then it can't simply refer to ministers as he.  I absolutely would not wish to replace all male language with all female language, two wrongs don't make a right, but surely to goodness we could have 'his/her' 'she/he' 's/he' or even 'their'... it's not rocket science, but words are powerful and so long as ministers are referred to only in the masculine nothing will change.

Here endeth the rant!

Comments

  • There's been a sea change in understanding in those 30 years. I'll join you in your rant. :)

The comments are closed.