Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Historic - Irrespective of Outcome

This is the first time I've ever stayed up to watch election results, the first time it has mattered enough, and the first time I've actually been excited to watch the results unfold, especially at the point where it  was neck-and-neck.

Today around half of the people in Scotland who I know and love are going to be devastated.  The half who are pleased, relieved or whatever need to be gracious and generous.  Above all we need to work together to build a brighter future for Scotland and, indeed, for the rest of the UK.

This was the most significant vote I ever took part in - and I knew that neither result was going to make me feel happy, that neither had guarantees, that whichever way it went huge numbers of people would be made very unhappy.  Above all I knew this was not about what I wanted but about what the people of Scotland felt.

There can be no celebrations (though many will wish to) and I hope there will be no reprisals to or from either part of the electorate or indeed from elsewhere in these islands.

You will understand, gentle readers, if this is a 'no comments allowed' post.

 

From mid-afternoon yesterday my social media profiles have borne a 'One' Scotland badge - and that's what we need to commit to. 

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is of God.
Love your neighbour as you love yourself

The comments are closed.