Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

"I love my church"

OK, ok, I know it isn't "my" church, it's Christ's church... it's the church of which I am part, and I love it.

As we shared worship this morning people were loving, gracious and 'business as usual' with those they were pretty confident had voted differently from themselves because we know, we really know, that we are still who we are and we can do this.

It's funny the things that stick in your mind, and I still carry in my heart a kernel of truth from the sermon at my (our) induction service - be kind to each other.  We do our best - sometimes we suceed, sometimes we fail but we know it's a good aim, so we keep on, keeping on.

Another thing that came to mind this week, was something someone said to me on hearing of my cancer diagnosis four years ago which was, to the effect of "the only thing that has changed is that now you know".  Which was true.  And was not true.  Because knowing changed everything.  This morning "the only thing that had changed was that we knew the outcome of the referendum" and that changes everything... not suddenly and earth shatteringly, but now we know (as we would have done with a different outcome) where we are at this point in time.

After the service several people thanked me for what I had shared (every prayer I used was borrowed, I wanted to avoid my biases (except in choosing) from emerging, or badly chosen words causing offence).

I love my church because on the first Sunday after the referdendum, 'ayes' and 'noes' were distributed throughout the congregation, and two new students, who look like they might be settling with us, saw us at our best - loving, sincere, thoughtful, diverse, slightly eccentric (apparently, I've never noticed) aiming for inclusivity and trying our best to follow Jesus.  What's not to love?

Comments

  • I'm so glad you did this. Kindness matters more than ever just now.

The comments are closed.