Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Christmas Lite?

Yesterday I signed up to the Amazon-free Advent pledge, whereby I won't buy anything from Amazon (although they give you a conscience clause on kindle downloads!!) from 1st to 25th December as a kind of protest about the way their employees are treated.... we can order something for next day delivery late at night because some poor soul is working a night shift filling orders with very bad employment conditions... and then there's the whole tax avoidance thing.

I love Amazon and buy heaps of stuff from them - but I've signed the pledge, so to speak, and will adhere to it.

So, today, I began real world Christmas shopping (I am allegedly on leave this week, but it hasn't quite worked that way!!) and am rediscovering the fun of wandering round the shops looking for bits 'n' bobs.  Indeed, I have been inspired to do Christmas 'lite' this year, filling "small parcel" sizes boxes with inexpensive treats for family and friends rather than buying one item at the click of a mouse (or other pointing device!).  So far I have purchased some fundraising calendars, some chocolate coins (essential!) and a few items that 'spoke to me'.  It's fun, it may cost me more and it may cost me less (I suspect less, except for the mortgage for postage!) and feels closer to what it used to be in days gone by.

Visits to small, independent shops at one extreme and bargain basement buys from UK-based multiples at the other; 'aha' moments as I 'see this and think of you...' and the buzz and bustle of it all.

It is 'lite' in as much as no big purchases, and 'heavy' in so much as some serious re-thinking of how I spend my money.  And definitely a lightening of spirit... just need to dig out the cheesy CDs ready of December 1st!!

Next task... buy a chocolate filled Advent calednar and a few other treats to donate to a foodbank.

The comments are closed.