Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Christmas Starts With.... Adverts?

This year's offering under the banner "Christmas Starts with Christ" is dividing opinion among those are are already comitted followers of Jesus aka Christians.

Some are delighted to see it taking on the big retailers and playing them at their own game whilst others are disappointed that it is too white middle class and lacking in prophetic edge.

See what you think:

That God can speak through this, I have no doubt - but I sense God may speak through other adverts also.

I like the baby's chuckle at the end - this reminder that Jesus was a real baby, not a doll or a no-crying-he-makes lines in a song.

I am amused that the 'church' is using a Frankie Goes to Hollywood tune whilst Sainsbury's are using an old redemption hymn "Leaning on the Everlasting Arms"

I'd have prefered a less opulent beginning and a more authentically middle-eastern looking Mary & Joseph in a less clinical stable... and perhaps that's the nub of my disquiet... I'm not entirely sure what this says to the poor and marginalised people for whom Jesus clearly had huge concern.

Perhaps the key is who the advert is aimed at, and how they will recieve it, not how I or any other Christian insider feel about it.  If it sparks a new or renewed interest in Jesus in the heart or mind of one person, then it's done its job.

The comments are closed.