Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Read, Mark, Learn...

This is the title I'm using for a six week preaching series looking at the first couple of chapters of the Gospel of Mark.

When I looked through the lectionary readings for the period from Holy Innocents to Easter, I was struck by how confusing a chronology it portrays (e.g. the innocents are slain before the magi arrive) and how it repeats readings in pretty short order (Baptism and temptation of Jesus) so I decided to side step it for a bit, using the same (or a very similar) division of the text, but running it sequentially and then doing something else (not quite sure what yet, though have an idea) for Lent.

Yesterday I spent a happy couple of hours reading commentaries and finding some ideas for the first sermon, "The Beginning of the Good News".  I hadn't imagined that there would be quite so much written about just this first phrase that would intrigue me, and set my creative juices flowing, but there you go!

After a slightly crazy couple of weeks, life is settling back into a more even pattern and tonight the Cat Inspector calls to see if I am fit to be trusted with rescue kitties... so later on the hoover will come out and the newly washed cat beds put on prominent display!  I am feeling optimisitc about 2015 - even if I know I need to pace myself.

Comments

  • Snap! (ish)

The comments are closed.