Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Great Knits

001.JPG

My very elderly (better part of 30 years old) 21st Edition copy of Patons Woolcraft - still my 'go to' after all these years.  I did have an earlier edition, the 18th I think, but I wore it out (and shared it with my sister and mother).

I taught myself to knit from the Ladybird book on knitting - alas it seems my copy is long since lost, and I'm not about to pay £3.50 (or more) to replace it purely for nostalgic reasons.  My first successful knitting project was a bright green pencil case (with a white zip hand stitched into it - back in the 70s it was expected that you could put in a zip by age 11!) before I soon progressed to a jumper with a cable design up the front, and in time won prizes for my fairisle and Arran knits.

Now, I just dug out the book for fancy stitches to work into squares I'm knitting for a charity.  Just opening it, looking at patterns that have been knitted over the years is a source of great joy... and I realise now that I was actually a mighty good knitter back in the day!

The comments are closed.