Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Experimenting within the experiment!

Our seven week long experiment with a 'zones' model of all age worship reaches its penultimate expression tomorrow.  Whilst it hasn't been everyone's worship style of choice, people have very graciously stuck at it and done their best to engage with it.

It has been a lot of work for me, partly because I've opted to work alone rather than delegating or sharing responsibilities with others.  Though as any one who has done so knows, it is often a lot easier to do it all yourself even if ultimately not the 'better way'.

This morning I have been preparing the interactive prayer element for tomorrow, for which a hint is given in the photo.  This involved experimenting with different recipes and methods which are allegedly better than my 'go to' approach... we will see tomorrow if it makes any different whatesoever!

As the summer series nears its close, and having also prepared the last of my three evening services, it has, for me, been good.  I feel more energised and engaged than I have for a long time.  This is not a criticism of anyone or anything else, just how it feels for me.

It will be strange to revert to 'normal services' in the autumn, although we have several exciting things to share which preclude too much routine, at least for a while.  I like routine too, I need order and structure to thrive.  It has been good, though to have the freedom to release my creative side a little more, and I hope that, overall, it has been a positive experience for those who have shared the experiment.

I have learned a lot this summer, gained deeper understanding of what it means to be a church for all ages, and along the way had a lot of fun.  For all of this, I am truly grateful.

The comments are closed.