Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Receiving (Extra) - Home Communion

Today was a very special and precious experience, as some folk from church came to share in a Home Communion with me.  This is something I love sharing in with others but had never before had the privilege to receive, and it was very much a time of blessing.

Gathered in my living room, we shared delicious homemade soup poured from a flask, tasty cheeses with crisp, crunchy crackers, succulent grapes... and good conversation.  Then, with two people sat on the floor, and two of us on the settee, we gathered round my coffee table and shared in a gentle liturgy specially prepared.

This was the Priesthood of All Believers lovingly expressed... the person who presided had been so concerned to get it right, even though they knew they couldn't get it wrong... and it was such a precious moment for me, so used to giving to receive.

This was the Communion of Saints, the uniting of these few people with all believers in all times and places... defying and barriers of time or space or creed or culture.

It was a real blessing and I am grateful to M, I and J who gave of their time and of themselves to come and share.  I've always valued Home Communion, always seen and appreciated the way it has blessed others - now I understand more fully how and why that is.

And it gives me an idea I need to lodge in my brain - to try to encourage church folk to share informal 'breaking of bread' in the context of hospitality and meals with friends.  I love the idea that, from time to time, in homes across the city, love and laughter, food and friendship, remembrance and celebration express something of our unity in diversity, of the Priesthood of all Believers, of the Communon of Saints.

The comments are closed.