Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Receiving (5)... Love builds up the other...

Last week's service, to which I have just listened saw the preacher facing a huge challenge: it was Valentine's Day and it was the first Sunday of Lent, which in the lectionary focusses on the Temptations of Jesus.  Deciding how, if at all, to combine such seemingly disparate themes, is far from easy, and I would have made very different choices had it been me preaching.  There is no one 'right' way to approach such challenges, and only experience of that which doesn't work out, as well as that which does, enables us to find our own way through such challenges.

So, in reflecting on this sermon I remind myself of my self-imposed guidelines...

  • We come to worship not to be entertained or to be educated but in the hope of encountering God
  • In every service there is a nugget to be found and cherished
  • Love is not selfish but seeks to build up the other

As the sermon ended, I detected a sense of disappointment, possibly even defeat, in the voice of the preacher - whatever he had hoped and dreamed of, it hadn't worked out and he knew it.  The last thing he needed, the last thing he needs, is criticism.  He had worked hard and dilgently, identifed lots of ideas and tried to make links between the diverse themes of "romantic love" and "temptation" as well as exploring the dangers of proof-texting and what the narrative might suggest about Jesus' nature.

There were at several great ideas in there, any of which I would love to hear as a sermon in its own right, as each had important stuff to ponder.  And there were important themes that need to be explored, but which could not be adequately handled in the time available.  What follows are some thoughts on the themes/ideas I noted...

Great Idea No. 1: The Nature of Temptation

The preacher noted that for something to be a temptation, and not merely a crazy idea, we must first consider it to be credible.  As a result, we won't be tempted to jump off buildings to prove we can fly, but we might be tempted to behave in ways that we hope will make others admire us.  Not rocket science, but I've never actually heard a preacher say it, and certainly not then extend that the temptations Jesus faced... for them to be real temptations, he had to believe them to be credible.

It was also noted that temptation is rarely blatant but instead is usually subtle, developing over time, as something which is innocuous and even potentially good becomes distorted.  Bread to feed the body is a good thing, but obsession with self-gratification is not.  The slide from feeding hunger/serving need to gluttony/greed/etc can be subtle and pernicious.

Great Idea No. 2: The Dark Side of Romantic Love

In what I am sure was a determined effort to link the theme of temptation to Valentine's Day, the preacher spoke about the risks and realities of sexual affairs, often starting out quite innocently but, if unchecked, starying into dangerous territory. 

It takes courage to speak of such things from the pulpit, and what was said was important.  Unfortunately in the context of the wider sermon, I felt it jarred slightly.

There are topics that visiting preachers can address that are not so 'easy' for resident preachers, and this might at first sight seem to be one such, but I'm not so sure... who knows what nerves might have been touched and pastoral conversations be needed?

Great Idea No 3: Gender Justice +/- Gender-based Violence +/- Sexual (and other) Abuse

One of the things I really admire about this preacher is his unabashed commitment to gender justice.  Almost every sermon he preaches either highlights something good about the women in the narrative or some way in which the church/society needs to learn to treat women better.  With such a passion, there really must be a superb sermon waiting to be 'birthed' and I'd love to hear it.

He also spoke about sexual abuse and gender-based violence, and the temptation to blame the woman for what she wore or where she was, as if the poor inncoent male could not help himself.  Abuse of power, of relationship, of strength...  the list is endless.

There is some superb BMS material on this complex topic (including also trafficking, prostituion etc.) that would enhance the knowledge base for such a sermon(s).

For all that, this is not an area in which I would choose to preach unless I was supremely confident that the necessary support was in place to manage any consequences... every church has among its members women, men and children who have been, or are being, abused physically, sexually or emotionally.  I think, and maybe it's a cop out, that I'd be more likely to explore this via a Bible Study group.

Great Idea No 4: Use and Abuse of Scripture

One of the threads in this sermon was around 'knowing the Word', by which usually what was meant was the scriptures of the Old and New Testaments.  The dangers of proof-texting, of taking verses out of context, the way words change their meaning, the choices made by translators... oodles of avenues to explore, and big questions to ponder about the link between the 'word' spoken by the preacher, the 'Word' which is the scriptures and the 'WORD' revealed in Christ.

Perhaps it's because I've preached such a sermon that this one appeals to me... a sermon that is more didactic than kerymatic, but one that helps others to recognise and reflect upon their own approach to the texts, hopefully allowing fresh insights to be uncovered.

Great idea No 5: The Temptations of Christ

There was an interesting, if not fully explored, idea around the three temptations recorded.  The first (bread) was related to Jesus' humanity, that it was clearly right to meet his material needs.  The second (power) to his divinity: clearly all creation should be at his feet.  The third to his relationship with YHWH/God: surely if God had sent him, God would save him.  These were, all to fleetingly, brought into conversation with aspects of the gospels, miracles, healings and ultimately the crucifixion.

I sense there was at least one, and potentially three, good sermons here.

Building Up One Another

There have been times, and there will continue to be times, when I reach the end of a sermon, my heart sinks and I feel that this has been a 'dog' of a sermon.  The ideas have not been communicated as I'd hoped, the 'feeling' was that people were not engaged or challenged or encouraged... All sorts of reasons.

All preachers have 'off days' and the best preachers sometimes deliver the 'worst' sermons.

We have to learn not to judge one another on the basis of performance or novelty or entertainment, and instead to encourage one another to keep on keeping.

This sermon has given me LOADS to think about, loads of ideas that will perculate in my mind and one day shape a sermon of my own, and that has to be very good.

Inexperienced preachers tend to try too hard, endeavour to include every idea they have, and cite lots of commentators, if only to demonstrate that they've done the work.  For experienced preachers, sometimes a little blase in preparation, this can be a reminder both of how far we have travelled, and also what we may have lost along the way.

L, please don't feel demoralised or defeated, I know that this sermon was the product of serious study, earnest prayer and dogged determination.  There was plenty to ponder and I am glad you made me ponder it, if only briefly.  Be encouraged, try to relax just a little, and enjoy continuing to prepare to lead people in worship.

 

EDIT Since I posted this it has become clear that at least one person felt I should not have done.  I have made a few alterations here and there, but the post is substantially as it began.  It has been a salutary reminder that words, once spoken cannot simply be retracted, and that no matter what the intent of the author/speaker, it is the reader/hearer who makes meaning of what is communicated.

Comments

  • I can't believe you think this is an acceptable thing to put online. I will contact 'L' to tell him so.

    I have tried to formulate an email response to you but I am so angry it will have to wait for another day.

  • I am really sorry that this post has caused you such offence. I have had a conversation with 'L' about this already. If you email me I'll gladly have a conversation with you.

The comments are closed.