Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Born Under a Wandering Star?

This week, possibly prompted by my reading of the Exodus story and the nomadic, wandering existence of the Hebrew people, I found myself recalling how long I'd lived in various places... and however I count it, six and a half years in Glasgow is the third longest, with "Dibley" a close fourth.

Longest at one address:


1. Burtonwood, Warrington (11 years)
2. Duston, Northampton (9 years)
3. Glasgow (6.5 years)
4. "Dibley" (5.75 years)

Longest in one Town/City/County/Local Authority
1. Northamptonshire (13 years)
2. Warrington/Cheshire (11 years)
3. Glasgow (6.5 years)
4. "Trumptonshire" (5.75 years)

Apart from that, I've lived in London +/- Middlesex (various), Derby (three addresses), Manchester, and Ravenstone, Buckinghamshire.

So there you go, defintely a wandering Aramean, and presumably born under a wandering star!

It amused me, and it also made me stop and think a little; about my own sense of 'rootlessness' and about how the two places I've lived and worked as a minister are among the longest, depsite being (thus far) relatively short.  Hmmm.

The comments are closed.