Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Remembering

Today is my Dad's birthday - had he still been alive, he would have been 91 years old today.

Today is my maternal Grandma's birthday - had she still been alive, she would have been 109 years old today.

Today the "Book of Memories" I created for my Mum as a Mothers' Day gift arrived - that seemed somehow appropriate.

It's almost 26 years since my Dad died, and I was then 27 years old - I've lived almost as long since as I did before.  As time passes, I am aware of memories changing, becoming more mellow, more forgivning or understanding (we didn't always have an easy relationship, though at the end we were properly at peace with each other).

It's nearly 20 years since my Grandma died, just weeks after one of my nieces was born.  It's curious to observe a young woman making her way in a world my Grandma never knew.  Curious too to ponder the absence of any memory of my Grandma for most, if not all, of my nieces and nephews.

The next project I have in mind for my Mum is a playlist for life - a collection of music that will hopefully prompt memories for her, inspire conversations and above all bring moments of joy.

It is moving and challenging undertaking these projects - finding my own memories stirred, discovering that some look different 20, 30, even 40 years on - there is a huge sense of responsibility, and of privilege, and ultimately of hope.  We are so blessed to have access to the technology that allows us to make photo books, to create playlists, to bring moments of memory to those we love, and whose love and dedication has made us who we are.

Remembering my Dad; remembering my Grandma; remembering with gratitude all that my parents and grandparents continue to mean to me.

The comments are closed.