Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

A Memory of My Own...

When I was at Kelvingrove, I looked at the postcards of selected artworks on display, and found myself recalling my own childhood visit there, at the age of about ten, and how each of us had been bought a postcard of one of the artworks by my Dad.  Mine was 'Cherry Ripe' - a painting that is perhaps a bit mawkish, and which I have been unable to confirm was ever displayed at Kelvingrove.  Perhaps my memory is defective, perhaps the postcard was on sale without the original being displayed, perhaps it didn't even come from there... Whatever the bare facts, the painting evokes fond memories, enough to prompt me to walk all round the gallery to confirm it wasn't there and then to search online for a picture of it.

Cherry Ripe was, for some reason, one of the pet names my Dad used for me when I was small, so I guess that's why he chose this postcard for me.  The card is long since lost, the memories are faded and undoubtedly rose-tinted, but the image still has the power to evoke a sense of wellbeing and pleasure, which is good enough for me.

The comments are closed.