Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Receiving (6-8)

This morning I did something that, for me anyway, is unusual, I listened to three sermons back-to-back.  Three preachers, three personalities, three approaches, three texts/topics.  Each of three held my attention, each had something to say to me, each was the result of a lot of hard work, thought and prayer.  I'm not going to write loads about any of them, just a few thoughts that struck me as I listened.

Learning from King David

The first sermon was centred on Psalm 27 and was an exploration of what might be learned from reflecting on David, shepherd, psalmist and king.

Of the three sermons, this was the one that spoke to me the most strongly, the one "I needed to hear", with its focus on what, and how, we choose to think about and how that affects us.  As someone who worries and over-reflects, and as someone who is all too aware of her ability to say the wrong thing, it was good to be invited to ask myself what it is I reflect on and where my focus is directed in such remembering.  Is my 'inner narrative' life-affirming or death-dealing (my phrases)?  Do I turn things over and over, or do I consciously,  deliberately seek God, to help make sense of things, to confess, to celebrate, to realign myself?

The preacher spoke of remembering well, noting that it is "good to trace the touch of God in our lives" - which felt like a timely reminder to think of good things, not to lament failures.

The closing thought, which is one I will chew on further was "what could you say to yourself better?"  I sort of know the answer, I just need to get on and do it!

Prodigals All

The second sermon focussed on the parable often called "The Prodigal Son" and was inspired by the reflection on it by Henri Nouwen, which in turn centres on the Rembrandt painting, reproduced above.

The book and the painting are very well known, and I have heard sermons arising from each.  The preacher said, as every preacher who has used it has said before them "you really must read this book" - and so, finally, I will.

The sense of 'home', of being who it is we are created to be, knowing and experiencing our true identity as children of God, was one that I found helpful, since it is not related to a physical location but to a sense of being.

The sermon explored many interesting ideas: 'sin' as leaving 'home'; leaving 'home' as a denial of our true identity; the potential for disappointment in God's grace for others; whether we perceive ourselves more as 'younger' or 'older' sons.

What struck me was the idea that the elder son had adopted a 'servant mentality' rather than a 'son mentality' and that this had led to him becoming embittered.  I suppose I felt a sense of resonance, not in terms of my relationship with God per se, but in how I can become very dutiful to the exclusion of delighting in who I am.  I don't think I'm bitter or envious of others, but I probably could do with lightening up a bit!!

The preacher asked whether we are guilty of looking at others and thinking "they aren't as good as me", which was a good question. I was struck, though, that I am as likely, maybe more, to look at others and think "they are so much better than me" - the "imposter syndrome" that fears being exposed for who we really are behind our carefully constructed facades of competence or respectability.  Perhaps what we see in the older son might be what happens when those facades come tumbling down, when our fear seems to be realised, at least in terms of our inner desire to know that we are valued.  I've always been far more an 'elder son' dutiful, obedient and sometimes perhaps a bit passive aggressive.  Perhaps the 'sin', the 'leaving home', of which I need to return is to value myself just as I am.

Turn or Burn!

This was NOT the message of sermon number three, though it was mentioned as one of the parodies of Christianity that abound.

Sometimes the lectionary throws up some difficult passages, and the preacher who bravely gets on and preaches on them deserves to be applauded.  This was one such Sunday, with a gospel passage I recall wrestling with when I was involved in the "children's liturgy group" (Sunday School by any other name) of the RC church I worked with as a student.  If Luke 13: 1 - 9 isn't bad enough, add on 1 Corinthians 10: 1 - 13 and you have taken on one huge challenge.

The sermon rightly reminded the hearer that praying the 'magic' prayer and being baptised are not the end of the story; maybe not even the story at all I'd suggest.  Repentance, which was the key theme here, is ongoing and challenging.  Our faith is not about getting "a ticket out of here" but about living authentically in the 'now and not yet'.  The preacher rightly noted that the two passages here are directed at disicples, believers, people who have made some sort of commitment to follow Jesus and, even if we have a "once saved, always saved" theology they are scary words.

An important sub-theme of this sermon was about 'choice' - possibly (I don't know, this is pure surmise) a response to some expressions of neo-hyper-Calvinism that can be found in this part of the world.  As believers in Jesus, we still have freedom of choice, to do good or ill, to build up or to tear down - it is what we choose that matters.  The sermon culminated in identifying a choice we are invited to make: "today I desire to be like Christ".  I think that's a good motto, mantra, aspiration, resolution.

Drawing the threads together

Three stand alone sermons, each with its own distinct focus and message, yet each able to "dialogue" with the others as I listen trying to detect a hint of God's voice speaking to me.

Today, I desire to be like Christ...

In Christ, I find my true identity, my sense of 'home'...

And being at 'home' enables me to remember more kindly, and speak to myself better, as I reflect on the highs and the lows of my ongoing journey of faith.

 

As a rule I wouldn't recommend listening to three sermons back to back, but today I'm glad I did, because it does feel that somewhere in it all I heard the "still small voice" of God's reassuring presence.

The comments are closed.