Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Monday of Holy Week

Traditionally the day when we think about Jesus ejecting the money-changers and animal-sellers from the Temple.  The day when the trappings of orthodox religion that had become a barrier rather than a blessing were named for what they were.  Which always gives me pause - what orthodox trappings might we have that prevent others from being able to seek for, or worship, God?

I guess we've all had to work through how we feel about the bake sales, the fairtrade stalls, the book stalls, the sponsored-event requests... but it has to be wider than this.  Sometimes on a Sunday we are all so incredibly busy with our alloctaed tasks or catching up with that person we need to speak to that perhaps we become our own barriers?  Oftentimes, in any church I know or have known, very elderly folk will lament the loss of a time when people came into church and sat quietly, preparing themselves for worship.  Today I ask myself what I might do better to enable others to experience worship, to have a place to pray, amidst the busyness of our fast-paced world.

It is written, this shall be a house of prayer for all people, but you have made it a den of thieves...

I'm sorry, Lord, for the times when my need to pass on a message, make an enquiry or catch up with someone I haven't seen for a while detracts, or distracts from their need, their desire for prayer

I'm sorry, Lord, for the times when I have been so busy attending to details of this or that aspect of the service that I haven't taken the time simply to sit in your presence

Overturn the tables of my distracted distracting and free me to encounter the one I say I seek.

Amen.

The comments are closed.