Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Maundy Thursday

Last night the focus was on Bonhoeffer, and four strands in his thinking: Discipline, Action, Suffering and Death.  These are good words to carry on into today as we focus on

Foot washing

Bread breaking

Wine pouring

Kiss betraying

Curse denying

 

Not a lot of words today, just a prayer:

Foot-washing God, kneeling in front of me and gently wiping the dust of another year's journey, how tender is your touch

Bread-breaking God, offering me nutrition for my body's ongoing life, symbolising your own death

Wine-pouring God, blessing me for my journey onwards, your love splashing in the cup of my heart

Kiss-betrayed God, meeting my gaze and weeping over my failure to understand

Curse-betrayed God, hearing the course crow of the cock as once more I fail to acknowledge you

On this day of mystery

In the symbols

In the remembering

Meet me afresh, cleanse, forgive, strengthen, delight...

Then lead me into the darkness to wait patiently with you, for you...

Amen.

The comments are closed.