Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Lord, you sometimes speak in "things that make you go 'hmm'"

This week, and to a degree, last week, has been charactrised by "hmm" moments.  From the out-of-the-blue contact from a school friend I last saw in 1971 (and a now almost sorted meet up later in the month) to the equally unexpected "I'm sure I know who that former organist is, and we were in the same place at the same time 30 years ago" to the "I know this sounds a bit strange but..." request from the organisation I vounteer with.

Each of these has encouraged and affirmed me - and each feels a little bit like Divine teasing, which makes me smile and restores my soul.

It has also been a week when there have been delightful surprises - not things that can yet be shared publicly, but  which have made my heart sing - all to do with our shared life as a local church.

And then the realisation that rule-follower me can be subversive precisely by following the rules!  I kind of knew that anyway, but perhaps in working on my experimental sermons, each a teeny bit subversive, I have re-connected with that part of my inner being.  It is a little known fact that rule-followers and good-children often get away with things that others might not!

In a few minutes I will be off out to share in one of my best-loved routine aspect of ministry - sharing Commuinion in the home of someone now housebound.

Next time I'm a bit melancholic or self-pitying, I hope weeks like this will serve as signposts of God's grace, love and sense of the ridiculous!

The comments are closed.