Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Broth as Community Building/Strengthening

Once I've posted this, my next task is to start work on a big pot of vegetable broth for this evening.

I am excited to be hosting a first, experimental, "pot luck" meal within the context of which we will " break bread" (share Communion) in a very low key way.  The hope is that conversation will flow, relationships be forged and strengthened, and that these first few participants will feel encouraged to have a go at hosting themselves.

If all goes well, I will be inviting these folk to undertake to host a similar small gathering with the next couple of months (so that would mean five homes in the next 'cycle') with a view to cascading this to include everyone who would like to come along and/or host over time.

In these early days, it's important NOT to keep inviting the same folk but instead to make a concious decision to invite people we maybe know less well, or who know each other less well, to help make a stronger 'web' or 'network' of relationshsips. We may need to co-ordinate a bit to ensure we can include everyone in a  timely fashion.

Next time, I hope to be able to include at least one family with young children in those in my home, so that this can be truly inter-generational.

I'm excited - I hope other people will be to.

The comments are closed.