Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

I AM... seven sayings in seven weeks.

It's been fun.

I've played around with Greek words.

I've looked at Hellenistic and Hebrew understandings.

I've explored exlcusivist, inclusivist and pluralist readings of John's gospel.

I've made bread and decorated wine glasses.

I've prepared quizzes and colouring pages.

I've sung with the choir a couple of times.

I've been blessed by the thoughtfulness and creativity of others.

I've been very blessed by the two "fairies" who each week have helped set everything up for worship...

 

Today was I AM the true vine ... which I tried to explore via a recap of the other six images; with a little bit of creativity we got there...

bread - nuturition - grapes

light - succoth - celebration - joy - wine

gate - threshold/crossing place - many sheepfolds, many branches

shepherd - vine-dresser

resurrection - little deaths & little resurrections - I get knocked down, but I get up again - pruning

way - Christian perspectives on salvation, exlcusive, inclusive and pluralist readings - many mansions - one stem, many branches

vine - the root stock of Christ, in whom we remain, abide, rest, stay, grow, flourish, delight, weep...

 

It's been a good summer - for me at least - and I've had some encouraging feedback as to what people had found helpful or thought-provoking.

Auld claes 'n' parritch next week - or at least back to our non-summer pattern.  A short series on the book of James will be very different, but hopefully helpful and encouraging and challenging.

 

 

The comments are closed.